Vegan Butternut Squash Ravioli

Today I’m sharing an absolutely delicious recipe for butternut squash and homemade vegan ricotta ravioli with a brown sugar and butter sauce and fried sage! I’m also going to share with you a lesson I learned the hard way while making this yesterday and that is don’t try to make ravioli if you don’t have the proper tools! Everything was going smoothly and surprisingly quick and easy when I went to roll out my dough and realized I didn’t have a rolling pin. I knew I didn’t have a ravioli cutter but I figured it would be easy enough to do by hand…. What could have been roughly a 45 minute recipe to make ended up taking about 2.5 hours because I had to stretch my dough by hand, and piece each ravioli together by hand, which was a messy and long affair. Also, my raviolis were a little thick- too much dough to filling ratio. However, if you have a pasta roller and a ravioli cutter than this will be much easier for you! And if not, I have another option! Tonight I made spaghetti, tossed it in a bit of the butter sauce and then threw the leftover filling on top and it was just as delicious. So, ravioli not your thing? Easily turn this into an easy and delicious spaghetti dish!

ravioli-3

*Note how ugly and thick my ravioli shapes are!*

img_4140

This is what your filling should look like- gross, I know, but I promise it is SO good.

ravioli-2ravioli

Vegan Butternut Squash Ravioli

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 45 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

For the filling:

4 cups cubed butternut squash

1 block firm tofu

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 to 2 cloves minced garlic

For the dough:

4 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

4 tbsp olive oil

1 cup water

For the sauce:

1 cup melted butter (I like Earth Balance Organic)

4 tbsp brown sugar

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp black pepper

15-20 fresh sage leaves

Instructions:

  1. Start by roasting or boiling your butternut squash. To roast, rub with olive oil and heat at 400 degrees for 30-45 minutes or boil for about 25 minutes.
  2. In the meantime, make your homemade vegan ricotta. Drain and press your tofu- I like to slice my block in half to make two thinner pieces for pressing. In a medium sized bowl, mash with a fork into soft crumbles and then add the lemon and garlic. Put bowl aside and get ready to make the dough.
  3. In a large bowl whisk your flour and salt together. Then add oil and half of the water to the middle. Fold inwards working into a dough and add the rest of the water as you knead. Add more flour or more water depending if your dough is too wet or too dry.
  4. When your squash is soft, place in a blender and puree. Then pour it into the ricotta and gently mix together.
  5. Bring a pot of water to a boil and in the meantime roll out your dough and assemble the raviolis.
  6. Place a few raviolis at a time into boiling water and cook for 3-5 minutes. They are ready when they float to the top.
  7. While your raviolis are boiling, simmer the butter in a sauce pan and then add the brown sugar, pepper, and garlic powder.
  8. In a separate pan, fry your sage leaves in olive oil until crispy. Place on a paper towel, press off the access oil, and crumble them up.
  9. Toss your cooked raviolis in the butter sauce, add leftover filling if there’s any left, and top with the fried sage. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

