Toothpaste Review 

I’ve been searching for a perfect natural and non-toxic toothpaste and I’ve tried out a few in the last couple months that I wanted to share with you guys. I’ve found huge differences between all three of them and think I’ve found the best one for me. What’s your favorite toothpaste? Let me know in the comments below! 


The first i tried was Tom’s of Maine and what I like most about this toothpaste is the texture. A little goes a long way (unlike the other two) and it’s has a fresh foamy feeling as you brush. The taste is lacking, with a more powdery flavor but you definitely get used to it. I got this toothpaste at Trader Joe’s for just a few dollars. 

Next was Dr Brite, which had the best minty flavor of them all. I like the ingredients in this one which include activated charcoal and vitamin C and that’s it’s natural without seeming too hippie-ish if you know what I mean. The downside to this is that it’s pricy, at $9 a tube, or $22 for a 3 pack.

Ugly By Nature was my least favorite for a couple of reasons. The slogan of this toothpaste is “Keep your mouth clean and your sink dirty” and that is no understatement. While I don’t mind the dark color for brushing with, it makes such a mess and gets grey splatters all over the sink. I also didn’t like the texture of it- I felt like I had to put a ton on my toothbrush because it thins out quickly in your mouth and feels like there’s not enough to brush all your teeth. It also turns to a very grainy texture which feels like biting down onto tiny sand pieces, I assume from the clay ingredient. Lastly, the tube is really hard to squeeze once you get about half way through the bottle so that’s a pain.

And so, although it is the most expensive, my favorite is Dr Brite with a close second going to Tom’s of Maine. I also recommend trying Dr Brite’s vitamin C mouth rinse which you can get in a bundle with your toothpaste. 

Leave a Reply

