Boston Veg Fest: A Day in Review

If you were lucky enough to go to Veg Fest this weekend in Boston, you’re probably running off a sugar high and and stashing away handfuls of coupons. I was so impressed by the number of vendors and their amazing products. I ate way too many samples, including BBQ jackfruit, ice cream bars, and a really popular and trending item- cashew cheese dips and spreads. My favorite part of the festival was all the baked goods- obviously- so I’m going to talk about some of the best bakeries (and show you lots of delicious pictures) and then discuss some upcoming innovative new companies and their products, like pudding and cocoa!

Vegan Treats Bakery in Pennsylvania, named one of the top ten best bakeries in the world, attends all of these types of events. They were at Veg Fest in Worcester over the summer and the line was so long I never got to try anything. Well today I got there nice and early and was lucky enough to snag a pumpkin whoopie pie, a chocolate glazed donut, and a peanut butter chocolate cake.

img_3174img_3176img_3175

Then there was FoMu, which I have all the time since there’s a location near me, but still could not resist. My mom and I got four cupcakes: F’ostess (fake Hostess!) Salted Caramel, S’mores, and Peanut Butter Chocolate. Side note: I had a pint of their pumpkin caramel flavor last week and it was really yummy!

img_3183img_3180img_3178img_3181

Some of my favorite exhibitors included Cheeky Monkey, Veggie Fries, WayFare Foods, and Coop’s MicroCreamery.

Cheeky Monkey are these peanut butter puffs which look like cheeto puffs- except not bright orange- and taste just like Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs! But, they’re healthy and even great for babies! The downside is they’re very pricey, but an awesome snack to try.

Veggie Fries are these awesome baked fries made of different root vegetables. My favorite is probably the carrot potato and they are so crispy and amazing. I scored lots of coupons from them because I’ll definitely be stocking up!

WayFare is an awesome company with a variety of products including nacho cheese, butters, cream cheese, and pudding. My mom and I bought both butterscotch and chocolate pudding after trying them because they were both SO good, and my mom was so excited that they’re only 100 calories per pack. I also tried the butter and cinnamon sugar butter and those were both ridiculously good too. The prices are really great compared to a lot of vegan specialty products and each one is so worth it!

img_3210

Lastly, Coop’s MicroCreamery was selling hot cocoa mix and hot fudge that tasted just like the real thing. They’re such great stocking stuffers or gifts too, because the packaging is adorable!

 

I hope you check out these great new products and if you’re in either Boston or Pennsylvania check out the bakeries! Catch ya at the next Veg Fest!

img_3189
This donut from Vegan Treats Bakery was sooooooo good! Like a cake and donut mixed together and perfectly dense and moist- great with a glass of almond milk. 

 

Leave a Reply

